when life is good

A Personal Blog

Moon landing and chocolate cake

on October 24, 2012

Do you remember where you were on July 20, 1969? Can you remember what you had on? Do you remember what you ate? Do you remember that July 20 was Sunday? I remember exactly where I was and what I ate that day.

We had driven to the beach, Emerald Isle, North Carolina. We were going to celebrate two events. The moon landing and mama’s birthday. I thought that the moon landing was most exciting, to be honest with you. We stayed in an old, but very well kept Airstream trailer. My parents had bought it earlier in the year.

As tradition dictated, a chocolate cake was soon in the making. We mixed the Betty Crocker mix, poured it in a long pan, placed it in the gas oven, and waited. When the bell rang, we took the cake out, let it cool, and iced it with chocolate icing. I took a huge slice and went outside.

I headed to the nearest sand dune behind the trailer. Binoculars in hand, I sat down and gazed upward at the moon, half expecting to see the module on the surface. Then for some unknown reason, I howled like a wild banshee. Again and again. I just knew that Buzz Aldrin and Neil Armstrong could hear me. Silly me, I was just a teenager.

My sisters ran outside and asked me what was gong on. I said nothing, and we went back in. Mama turned on the television and we watched Walter Cronkite announce to the world that the module had landed. We squealed, ate the rest of the cake, and went to bed. And that’s the way it was. Good night.

I can still taste that cake!

One response to “Moon landing and chocolate cake

  1. Thank you. You know the kind of cake mix, Betty Crocker? We had one or two on hand at all times.

Leave a Reply

